Weird!!

Hey oh,

Apologies as always for not being prompt. I have been…… urghhh busy? ๐Ÿ™‚

I noticed a weird thing last night when i was looking over my model. I haven’t been in Windows in 3 days. Im not a linux lover or anything but it just prefer the way it works, and how it work with other applications.

Im not gonna go into a big breakdown of why linux is good or bad but its just something i would mention here, considering im not technical.

The only thing i would say is more packages need to be made available for it. I hear Silo 2.1 will be available on Linux. But Mudbox, Zbrush and PS and the big ones i would love to see on a distro of Ubuntu, but i get the feeling it isnt going to happen.

So here is a model i have been working on, on and off. Counting the hours up it up it really is a speed model, just polished and bit. I wanted to make something that i could do a lighting study in the future. there are areas on the model that aren’t perfect. The hair obviously isnt finished, but I dont think im going to put myself through the pain of trying to re-create it. I worked on it for about half an hour last night and was going to post the final image, but i don’t like it :). I prefer the version that i have here.

I must give a very honorable mention to Mark Newman the original sculptor who created the piece based of Edgar Allan Poe.

So there it is. See ya soon with more crap ๐Ÿ™‚

oh and SHOUTOUT to Jason, hey mate. Jason is the second person to post here, the first one was way back when i started this model, but he feels like the first because that was a while ago. So hey ho Jase. Speak to ya soon.

-andrew

Weird!!

2 thoughts on “Weird!!

  1. Netvudu says:

    Just another odforce user that does read your blog ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Youยดre making some fine job.
    Are you gonna keep on with your fur research, or go on the beta “thingy” from orthonormal, or are you just bored of furry problems?
    Regards.

  2. phrenzy84 says:

    hey Netvudu

    Thanks for taking the time to respond.
    Fur research, will it continue. Indeed it will. I will be making two posts very soon, one about modelling, another about Fur.

    I have tested the Orthonormal software, its amazing and very clever stuff albeit slightly plagued by a few issues.

    The mouse, unfortunately will be going on hold, i still dont have the knowledge for writing custom cvex Fur controls, which is one of the reason i am trying to learn VEX (I’ve got a feeling that learning VEX will come in very handy in the future). I would use the Orthonormal software but like i said there are a few issues, mainly working with imported geometry, i dont know if its a bug or just my system.

    But in my away time from this blog i have been making another creature which would benefit from Houdini’s own Fur setup. if anything it will help me understand more of the nuts and bolts on the lighting, texturing and rendering of Fur. Plus this particular project is a great candidate for my first digital character OTL. Fully rigged and with options for procedural animation and maybe some of my own VEX shaders.

    Ive got some stuff down but i will be working hard to deliver something, in the very near future, hopefully by the end of the week.

    I hope to make the modelling post in the next day or two, and hopefully by the end of the week i will have something for public consumption.

    Thanks for taking the time to read this blog and I hope I am doing a good job in showing everything I do. I don’t want any mysterious cloud over my work to make people think i am doing something special, i want it to be as transparent as possible.

    regards

    Andrew

Leave a Reply

